Katie's Musings

A blog about cooking, knitting, books, and parenting

Great day!

Today has been a very successful day; it’s been great! This morning we had Emmett’s appointment with the dietician, and it went wonderfully! I’ve been keeping a food log for Emmett for the past month, and so we were able to discuss his eating habits, and what he eats over the course of a typical week. I felt completely gratified, and vindicated, because she said that we are doing everything just right! She said that we are feeding him wonderful food choices, with lots of variety at every meal, and she said she is very impressed with how well he eats. She said that his food log was practically perfect– she said she wished she could show this to other parents! That really made me feel happy! As I’ve written before, Emmett is on the very lowest end of the weight range for his age, but I’m convinced that it’s part genetics (small babies run in my family) and partly due to his very active lifestyle; he’s always running around and playing. He eats very well, and it was wonderful to hear the dietician confirm that!!

She did give us a few suggestions– she said we could try to add a little more fat and calories to each meal, to try to sneak some extra fat into him. She suggested drizzling all of his vegetables with either olive oil or salad dressing, and mixing up his fruit with full-fat cottage cheese. And she said to keep feeding him avocado and nut butters (two of his favorite snack foods), since they’re high in healthy fats.

So that was a success!!!

Then, this afternoon I finally finished knitting the baby blanket for my new baby nephew!!! I’ve already started on the baby shoes I’m knitting for him, and I’m halfway through the first one.

Then, for supper tonight I made a roast chicken, using Jamie Oliver’s recipe. I stuffed the chicken with fresh rosemary and oregano, and half of a lemon. It was SOO delicious!!! I seriously have been craving roast chicken the last several days, and as soon as it was ready I served it up and started eating– and then remembered to take a picture. It was sooo good!!

I served the chicken with Jamie’s gravy, cheddar biscuits with gravy, and peas. I think I want to start making a roast chicken every week or so. It’s amazing how easy it is to make roast chicken– it seems like such an impressive dish, but it really is very easy. You basically just prep it, put it in the oven, and it’s ready after an hour and 20 minutes! And the house smells fantastic while the chicken is cooking; I can still smell rosemary and lemon. It’s also pretty affordable. Our grocery store sells frozen whole chickens (organic, free range, sustainably farmed), and they’re very reasonably priced. I think I got this one (one of the smaller ones) for about $9.50. What an affordable price for a whole chicken!

Anyways, now I’m going to go watch tv and keep knitting those baby shoes!

July 20, 2010 - Posted by | food, knitting, parenting, recipes | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

