Katie's Musings

A blog about cooking, knitting, books, and parenting

Soy-Peach Chicken

Tonight for dinner I made up a soy-peach chicken recipe, and it turned out quite well!

I marinated the chicken for about 3 hours before cooking it, in a mixture of:

  • about 1 cup soy sauce
  • about 2 tbsp. citrus-flavored soy sauce
  • 1/2 can peaches, diced, with most of the liquid from the can
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced
  • juice of one lime
  • about 2 tbsp. finely chopped sage
  • about 1/4 cup toasted sesame oil

After marinating, I removed about half of the liquid, and then cooked the chicken at 400 for about 25 minutes. It was delicious!

I will probably make this again in the future, but with a few changes. I would add more lime; I would probably use 2-3 limes. Also, I didn’t have any ginger on hand, but I think that would be delicious too! And, I think this would be even better with really ripe peaches instead of canned peaches. All in all, though, this is definitely a recipe worth keeping!

July 7, 2010 Posted by | food, recipes | , , , , | Leave a comment

Blueberry Muffins

One of my new favorite things to make for breakfast is blueberry muffins! I’ve made this recipe several times now, and they’ve always turned out great. The only change I’ve made is that I use 3/4 cups of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups. It still tastes sweet, but not overly sweet. I’ve made it using both frozen and fresh blueberries, and it tastes great either way! I also tend to make it with soy milk (either plain or vanilla flavored), since Scott is lactose sensitive. These muffins are great; I make these about once every two weeks!

July 7, 2010 Posted by | food, recipes | , , | Leave a comment

Knitting Mania!!

Ok, so my knitting has gone into overdrive now!! As I wrote in this post, I’m knitting a baby blanket (and plan to also knit a baby kimono shirt and baby shoes) for my nephew CJ. Well, CJ was born early this morning!!! I’m super excited to have a new nephew!!! But, I feel so bad that I wasn’t able to finish his baby items before he was born. But that’s ok– I’m on summer break, so theoretically I have lots of time to knit (if only my little toddler Emmett will take lots of long naps!). The good thing is that I’m exactly half-way through the blanket now, and I feel like I’m in a comfortable groove; it’s going pretty quickly. My goal is to finish the blanket and the other items in the next two weeks! That way, I’ll be able to send it to them not too long after CJ’s birth.

July 7, 2010 Posted by | knitting | , | Leave a comment