Katie's Musings

A blog about cooking, knitting, books, and parenting

Meal Planning, Diet & Exercise

I wanted to write a reflective post about what my current routine is for meal planning and exercise. I try to plan most of my meals (at least dinners) on a weekly basis. We subscribe to a local farm’s produce delivery service (community supported agriculture/CSA), so each week we get a box of fresh, local organic fruits and vegetables delivered to our house. (And we love it!!) We find out what will be in the box on the Friday before the next week, so I usually do my meal planning over the weekend. I start by looking online to see what will be in our veggie box the next week, and then I plan meals around that. I look in my cookbooks and borrow cookbooks from the library to get ideas for recipes, but then I usually just make whatever I feel like making, not always sticking strictly to any recipes. Recently, though, I’ve started planning my meals around the meat we’re going to eat, and fill in the veggies around that, since Emmett needs more meat in his diet.

Right now, as far as diet, I feel like our family has a convergence of many different dietary needs. Emmett’s pediatrician wants him to eat meat (specifically chicken or beef) every day. I’m currently eating some meat, since I feel like I still need that extra protein while I’m breastfeeding, but I am also ok with eating vegetarian meals a lot of the time. Scott has just decided that he’d like to be vegetarian, or mostly vegetarian now. High cholesterol runs in his family, and he wants to eat healthily and try to lose some weight. He said that he felt healthier when he was eating less meat, while I was vegetarian and vegan. So, it is going to be a bit of a juggling act trying to plan meals that will work for all three of us! I think that instead of fixing a meat main dish for supper, I’ll fix a meal that includes meat for lunch, for Emmett and myself. (Scott usually buys his lunch during his lunch break at work.) And then I’ll try to fix vegetarian meals for supper, so that all three of us can eat the same thing.

As far as exercise, I walk (fast walking, pushing the stroller) for 30-45 minutes every day. I’ve lost half of my pregnancy weight, but I’m on a plateau right now and can’t seem to start losing weight again. I have a membership at a gym, but I don’t go often enough for it to be worth the money. I’ve only been going about once a month… isn’t that sad? However, now that my spring semester is over, I really need to start going again, at least once or twice every week.

June 18, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I also plan the meals out weekly once I see what is in the CSA. I’ve found that works really well and reduces the trips that I need to make to the grocery store.

    Comment by Tammy McLeod | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yeah! It makes it easier to plan what I actually need to buy at the store, and reduces my impulse buying! 🙂

    Comment by katie | June 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

