Katie's Musings

A blog about cooking, knitting, books, and parenting

Shiitake and Butternut Squash Pizza

pizza

Yesterday I made some pizza dough in my new bread machine! It turned out fabulous. I’ll never go back to store-bought pizza dough again! I just used a basic pizza dough recipe that came with my bread machine. For the toppings, I used leftover roasted butternut squash, shiitake mushrooms (rehydrated/cooked in a mixture of water and cabernet sauvignon), black olives, and caramelized onions (cooked in olive oil and sesame seed oil). I used a store-bought garlic marinara sauce, and a mixture of ricotta cheese and mozzarella cheese. This pizza was fabulous!! I’m still working on my photography skills (I need to get a new camera…), so the picture doesn’t do it justice, but Scott and I ate this entire pizza by ourselves for supper!

February 3, 2010 - Posted by | food, recipes | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh my goodness! I would never have thought of that combination but it has got my mouth watering. The pizza dough looks perfect. Yum. Yum.

    Comment by Cheri | February 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you!!

      Comment by katie | February 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment