Katie's Musings

A blog about cooking, knitting, books, and parenting

Savoy Cabbage & Stewed Tomatoes

tomatoes and cabbage

Looking for a quick and easy lunch today, I remembered this recipe that I saw recently for a tomato, shrimp and egg stir-fry. I wanted to make something similar, but I didn’t have any shrimp on hand, so I decided to make a vegetarian version. I chose to substitute savoy cabbage instead of the shrimp, since I love the combination of cabbage with tomatoes. It turned out really well; it was a great lunch for a cold and rainy day!

Savoy Cabbage and Stewed Tomatoes

  • about 1/4 of a savoy cabbage, finely chopped
  • 1 small leek, finely chopped
  • 1 can of Italian herb stewed Roma tomatoes
  • olive oil and margarine (or sesame oil, peanut oil, etc.)
  • 2 eggs
  • rice

Cook rice as desired.

In a cast-iron skillet, heat the oil and margarine. I used olive oil and margarine, but you could really use anything– I think that sesame oil or peanut oil would be delicious (I’ll try that next time). Saute the leeks and cabbage for a few minutes, and then add the undrained can of tomatoes. Let it simmer for a few minutes. Put the cabbage and tomato mixture into a serving bowl, and fry the eggs in the same skillet. Fill a plate with rice, and top with several spoonfuls of the tomato-cabbage mixture and the eggs. Season with salt and pepper, and enjoy!

January 20, 2010 - Posted by | food, recipes | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment