Katie's Musings

A blog about cooking, knitting, books, and parenting

This week’s veggie box

Veggie box

Look at all this deliciousness!! Tuesdays are the highlight of my foodie-week, because on Tuesdays we get our produce box delivered to our doorstep! It feels like Christmas morning every Tuesday– opening a box to find the delicious goodies inside! Like I said in my first post, Scott and I discovered a local farm that has a produce delivery service, delivering local, organic produce from their farm to homes and offices every week. Providentially, we discovered it right after our son Emmett was born, and we absolutely love it! The produce is delicious, and it saves us so much time every week, which has been wonderful for us with a baby to take care of! Plus, I feel great to be able to support a local farm.

This week’s box includes: lettuce, savoy cabbage, 2 butternut squashes, leeks, radishes, baby bok choy, cauliflower, avocados, red potatoes, apples, and pears. I’d been worried (when we signed up for this service) about what kind of veggies would be available during the winter, but I’ve been so happy with all of the winter fruits and vegetables. We’ve had some of my absolute favorite veggies in the past couple of weeks: baby bok choy, butternut squash, and dino kale.

I haven’t decided yet what I’m going to cook this week, but some of the possibilities for this week are: a butternut squash souffle, butternut squash risotto, homemade seitan, homemade guacamole, cauliflower paprikash, and apple pie.

Emmett reads my cookbooks

Here’s Emmett reading one of my cookbooks! I was browsing my cookbooks yesterday to try to get ideas for new recipes to try, and he thought my books looked like a lot of fun.

January 19, 2010 - Posted by | food | ,

2 Comments »

  1. I just found a great use for left over bok choy. I had originally sauteed it lightly with olive oil and garlic so on day 2, I threw that into the blender and mashed it into potatoes. Green and delicious.

    Comment by Tammy McLeod | January 20, 2010 | Reply

    • That’s a great idea– sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      Comment by katie | January 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

